Site search:
Gaidhlig | Scots
To Go!

The Open Championship logoThe Open Championship

The Open Championship is professional golf's oldest major championship. The first Open Championship was contested at the links course at Prestwick on the 17th October 1860. Entry was only open to professionals and by invitation only. 8 players competed over 36 holes during a single day, with Willie Park Senior winning by two strokes, with a score of 174.

The Claret Jug, awarded to the winner of The Open ChampionshipIn the early days, the winners of The Open Championship were all Scottish professionals, however as the tournament developed and its fame grew, it began to attract players from all over the world. 

It is now one of golf's if not sport's most prestigious events and counts amongst its winners such golfing legends as Ben Hogan, Sam Snead, Bobby Jones, Tom Watson, Gary Player, Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Seve Ballesteros, Greg Norman, Nick Faldo and Tiger Woods.

The Open Championship returns to Turnberry

Turnberry was built as a luxury hotel and golf course development by the Glasgow and South Western Railway Company in 1903. The Ailsa Course at Turnberry was finally announced as a venue for the Open Championship in 1977. This event was to become famous as one of the greatest showcases of golf in the game’s history: the famous ‘Duel in the Sun

The 9th hole on Turnberry'../Repository/golf/open-golf/turnberry-9th-338x225.jpg

The famous 9th hole on Turnberry's Ailsa course, wtih the lighthouse in the background and the volcanic outcrop Ailsa Craig looming offshore

This prestigious venue has gone on to host the tournament on two further occasions, in  1986 and in 1994. In 2009, the year of Homecoming, the Open Championship returns to this famous course.

Thanks to the R&A for providing us with this information. Go to The Open Championship website for more details about this year's event.